Breadcrumb Navigation

Aegon Championships

One of the world’s premier tennis events
The AEGON Championships at Queen's Club

The Aegon Championships, is recognised as one of the top 10 tennis events in the world. The tournament attracts many of the leading players from the men’s game as they begin their preparations for Wimbledon on the grass courts of The Queen’s Club in west London.

Since its inception in 1979, 25 of the last 27 Wimbledon champions have played at Queen’s. Connors, Lendl, Edberg and Sampras are amongst the legends that have proudly lifted the iconic silver Championships trophy.

Recent tournaments have been dominated by two former World No. 1 players - Lleyton Hewitt and Andy Roddick. Hewitt won a hat-trick of titles between 2000-02, a feat equalled by Roddick between 2003-05. Hewitt then captured a fourth title in 2006, while Roddick defeated Nicolas Mahut in 2007 as they joined McEnroe and Becker as the only players who have won the title four times. In 2008 Rafael Nadal beat Novak Djokovic in a thrilling final to claim his first grass court title in front of a packed Centre Court.

Andy Murray defeated James Blake to win the inaugural Aegon Championships and become the first British player in 71 years to win the title at The Queen’s Club in 2009. Not since Bunny Austin in 1938 had a British player been crowned king at Queen’s, but Murray’s victory ensured the long wait for a champion was over.

In 2011, British No.1 Andy Murray won his second title at The Queen's Club in three years, after beating Jo-Wilfried Tsonga in a match that was carried over to the Monday due to rain delays.

In 2013, Andy Murray secured his hat trick of Aegon Championships titles by defeating the 2012 defending champion Marin Cilic and became the first Britain to achieve three wins at Queen’s since Sir Gordon Lowe (1913, 1914 and 1925).

Andy Murray - Aegon Championships 2013

The current doubles champions are the renowned brothers from the USA Bob and Mike Bryan.

The Queen’s Club

The Queen’s Club was established in 1886, one of the first multi-sport clubs to be founded in Britain. As well as tennis, it has courts for squash, real tennis (the game from which tennis evolved) and rackets. The Aegon Championships is played out across 10 impeccably manicured grass courts, with the best of the action on Centre Court.

Aegon: helping transform British tennis

As the Lead Partner of British Tennis, we’re helping to transform tennis across the country by developing young stars, supporting our National Teams and sponsoring world-class tournaments.

Find out more about the Aegon Championships

You can find out more information about the event, including how to get tickets, on the Aegon Championships website

Aegon Classic

Leading women's grass-court event at Edgbaston.

Aegon International

Top men's and women's event at Eastbourne.